Misfire when on boost

Post whatever you like in here but try to keep it Honda City related!
Colza
Forum Addict

Misfire when on boost

Postby Colza » Mon Apr 04, 2005 9:46 pm

My engine started doing this today. This morning i started playing with boost levels using a bleed type boost controller. At one point a hose came off and i managed to get a boost spike up to 1.5bar before the factory 1bar boost cut stopped it, this may have something to do with it but the misfiring didnt start till later in the day.

It is not a regular fault, sometimes i can boost ok up to 1bar, other times barely get past 0.1bar before it is missing so badly it wont go any further.

I have cleaned all my plugs, changed coils, cleaned the dizzy cap, and removed the boost controller.

There are no error codes showing on the ECU so it seems it is not a wiring/sensor problem.

After checking the last of the things mentioned i went for a drive. Everything seemed fine, boosted perfectly. I drove for about 5 minutes with no problem at all, but just as i came back to my house it started missing like crazy and would not even drive at anything above 0 manifold pressure  

This has me stumped, its nothing i have ever come accross before. I dont have any of my beloved error codes to work from either ??? It might very well be something to do with the new manifold, but it seems strange that it would run prefectly for 2 days then suddenly go wrong.

Stupid stupid STUPID car >:(

Kam
Forum Regular

Re: Misfire when on boost

Postby Kam » Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:15 pm

I got a problem like that.  When I get it (usually on the highway) I put the clutch in, turn the ignition off then back on, then release the clutch.  All this at around 100kph!  

I think its got to do with a dodgy wire to the map sensor but haven't got around to fixing it.

Tell us how you go and good luck!

JohnT
Donating Member

Postby JohnT » Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:08 pm