Tom's City E Stereo Install Log

Post whatever you like in here but try to keep it Honda City related!
Tomypg
Forum Participant

Tom's City E Stereo Install Log

Postby Tomypg » Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:03 pm

Hey guys, decided ti kit my honda city E out with a decent stereo.And by decent I mean truly redonkulous.

I am just a high school student on a weekend job so this is not an all out stereo install. Every expense IS spared. I'm on a budget...

This is what I am installing into my city:

2 x 12" Fusion NV subs 1000WRMS each
2 x Venom 6/9 100WRMS each
2x Venom 5.25 fronts
1 x Response 4x100WRMS amp
1 x Fusion 2500.1
1 x Soundstream Cap
1 x 110 Amp alternator

So I was pretty stocked with my purchases with pretty much everything on sale:

The subs, amp, cap and 0 Gauge cabling was all $700NZD
5.25's, 6/9's and response amp was $350 including misc cables.

I have made a custom sub box for the two 12's that has a slanted back to fit against the seats and just fits in between the two suspension points. Nice and snug.

Going to get some pictures up tomorrow, but whats holding me back right now is money for two deep cycle batteries and need to make a mount for the second alternator.

However I have installed the headunit and the front speakers, and also installed the 0 Gauge cable from under the bonnet to the back. I am going to be running the whole stereo seperate from the entire car so I don't get a flat battery.

This is how it is going to be wired: Alternator > Batteries > Buss Bars > (Front Amp) + Cap > Sub Amp

However I will have to rewire my headunit so that I don't get a ground loop and the dreaded whine!!

So next project while I wait for money for my batteries is to make new front speaker panels from MDF and making the false floor to cover batteries and the amp and set up the fans for cooling.